Note: The migrate instructions on this page only apply to Insomnia versions 2021.7.2 and older. If you’re on a newer version than 2021.7.2, you won’t have the migrate option within the app. However, you can still migrate your data. See Migration Alternatives.
With the release of 2021.1.0, Insomnia Designer and Insomnia Core were merged into a single application, Insomnia. Insomnia Designer has been deprecated, and will no longer receive updates. To allow for a smooth transition for Designer users to Insomnia v2021.1, we’ve created an automated migration workflow.
If you’re an Insomnia Designer user, you’ll be presented with a data migration flow asking you what data you would like to migrate. If the migration is successful, you’ll be notified and prompted to restart the application.
The migration modal shows different migration options to copy workspaces, plugins, and designer application settings.
Note: If you decide to skip the migration, you can always re-open the data migration flow via Preferences > General > Migrate from Designer.
When migration begins, a backup of your data will be created at
app-data-dir is stored in the following location:
~/Library/Application\ Support/Insomniaon macOS
In the current state, each time you migrate, this backup is overwritten just prior to starting migration.
If there is an unexpected error during migration, you will be shown the error that occurred. The data directory will be restored from backup, and you will be prompted to restart the application.
You may also choose to manually restore from the backup directory created at
<app-data-dir>/insomnia/core-backup. In the current state, each time you migrate, this backup is overwritten just prior to starting migration.
See Backup for a list of
app-data-dir locations based on your OS.
<app-data-dir>/insomnia/core-backup directory contains the following data:
Each of these items also exists in the parent folder,
<app-data-dir>/insomnia, which contains the current data used by the application.
In order to manually restore, do the following:
<app-data-dir>/insomnialive data directory
<app-data-dir>/insomnia, overwriting everything that exists
If you moved your workspace from Core to Designer several months ago, and are now merging the same workspace (with the same id) from Designer back into Core, this edge case applies. The merge won’t remove any children of the workspace (such as requests, request groups, certificates), but if a duplicate id is found, it will favor the data coming from Designer.
In the unlikely scenario that you can’t see your requests or workspace in Insomnia after migration, restore your data from your backup. Alternatively, because the migration is primarily additive and will not remove anything from the existing database (it will overwrite if the same id is found), some entries may become orphaned. Find orphaned entries by opening the
You can still migrate your data in the following situations:
Warning: Insomnia Designer and Insomnia use different data directories. When attempting to migrate from Insomnia Designer, backup both the Insomnia and Insomnia Designer data directories. Backups are especially important when you have to (temporarily) downgrade Insomnia from a previously installed newer version.